Carlos Cebro was born in Montevideo, Uruguay where he was taught piano by Adhemar Schenone, Hugo Balzo and Eliane Richepin. He successfully passed several competitive examinations before moving to Paris to further his education under Suzanne Roche and Vlado Perlemuter. He developed his skills in performing German lieder with Professor Paul von Schilhawsky, Director of the Mozarteum of Salzburg.

While in Paris, Carlos Cebro appeared as a soloist with orchestras, and chamber music ensembles, and has been an accompanist for renowned singers, performing worldwide, in concert halls, and on radio and television.                                                       



Hired several times by the Mozarteum of Salzburg, Carlos Cebro is a member of the board examiners of several renowned international boards.

He has conducted master classes in Japan, South America, Russia, Spain, Poland, South Korea, France and Portugal where, in 1984, he organized the first International Competition in Porto, and provided the artistic leadership for the following seven years. Today, he is the Chairman of the "City of Montevideo" (Uruguay) competition. He is also the chair of the artistic committee of the Brest (France) piano competition, and the artistic director of the Maria Canals International Music Competition, as well as the President of the Jury of that competition.



Carlos Cebro was named Professor of piano, by contest at the Catalonia Upper School of Music in Barcelona, Spain. The French Government recently granted him the medal of "Knight in the Order of Arts and Letters".

As a solo performer, Carlos Cebro has played under the direction of Arie van Beek, Neithard Bethke, Jacques Bodmer, Paul Bonneau, Philippe de Chalendar, Choo-Hoey, César Grimaldi, Lazlo Halasz, Pablo Komlós, Gustav König, Hugo López, Roberto Montenegro, Karl Nagel, Miguel Patrón Marchand, Kurt Rapf, Salvador Brotons, Jerzy Salwarowsky, Karol Stryja, Héctor Tosar, Frédérico García Vigil, Antonio Vito, and others.

Carlos Cebro has accompanied great voices including, Arleen Auger, Rita Streich, Carmen Bustamante, Margarita Castro-Alberty, Viorica Cortez, Masako Deguci, Marie-José Dolorian, Yolanda Hernández, Alessandra Ruffini, Giulietta Simionato, Nobuko Takahashi, Jules Bastin, Roland Hermann, George London, Bruno Pratico, and others.


Contact in France: Carlos Cebro